Reviews

More reviews can be found via tripadvisor , check it out here at this link below, hope to see you soon at the Mountain Cottage Getaway! 

Tripadvisor logo

http://www.tripadvisor.ca/VacationRentalReview-g635944-d7164584-Mountain_Cottage_above_Slocan_Lake_with_Views-Silverton_British_Columbia.html

RECENT SUMMER 2017 REVIEW, MORE TO COME!

Nice place in a secluded area. Close to Slocan Lake. Highly recommended!

Mahdi ( Matt ) & large group get-together

Canada Day long weekend, July 2017

Calgary, AB

RECENT WINTER HOLIDAY REVIEWS HERE:

Top of the list in the area on AIRBNB!

This cottage was in a winter wonderland.. so much beauty surrounding it and there is way to much to explore to only come once! I cant wait to come back to that area to adventure more! The cottage was so cozy, and easily fit my 9 friends and I! It had everything we needed and I have no complaints at all! Even though I didn’t get to officially meet Monika, the phone calls we had .. I can tell she is a genuine person, super easy going to talk to and helpful to answer any questions! I would for sure stay here again! Thanks for the great experience and sharing your place with us 😀

Nikko and friends

February 2017 getaway weekend

Vernon, BC

We loved our quiet holiday in the snow! Sledding in the yard was fun for all of us, and our puppy! It was the peaceful getaway we were hoping for. Silverton and New Denver were so charming and have rich histories. Thank you!

Dana Hahn, John, Jaden, Peyton, Eli and Cinder

Dec 21-28, 2016 ( Winter Holidays )

Vancouver Island, BC

RECENT FALL 2016 REVIEWS

Review #16396933 “Mountain Cottage Available Above Slocan Lake And Near Valhalla Provincial Park”
Cozy cottage – recommended!
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
We visited Nakusp and Ainsworth hotsprings last week, and spent two nights in this cozy and fully equipped mountain cottage. The woodstove is good enough to keep the two-floor cottage warm. Wood is also available in the house and more in the yard. The house owner is very friendly and responsive. All in all, we had great time there. I recommend this place!

Nov 11 – 13th weekend

Joey Wang and friends, Kelowna BC

“We stayed with a group of friends at Monika’s cottage. This was our second time staying at this cottage. It is a very clean and spacious place which can easily accommodate up to 10 people. There is a nice wood fireplace in the house which gives it a warm charm (there is also electric heating system throughout the house). There are several nice hikes close by, and you can also get access to different hot springs in the area (60-90 minutes away). Monika is very helpful and friendly, and always available to answer questions.”
Mohsen Javdani, friends and family

Thanksgiving Weekend, October 2016

Vancouver, BC and Calgary, Alta

Monika provided us with great communication from the start. She was helpful and attentitive when require. The cabin is in a gorgeous location, secluded but only a short drive from the lake.”

Ewan Flanagan and friends

September 2016

Mount Martha, Austrailia

RECENT SUMMER 2016 REVIEWS

“We thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Monika was friendly, helpful and quick to respond before and during our trip. The house is amazing and the veg garden and lawn areas are huge! Thanks Monika:)”

Chris Cozens and friends

Late – July, 2016

Cambridge, United Kingdom

“Thanks Monika, Your a total pleasure to deal with. We had a great time mountain biking, great CD selection for our dinner parties, room for our awesome friends. The Kootney’s is the perfect place to lay back and forget you have a phone or a life on the other side. Thanks again to the host!

Sacha Hockenhull and friends

Mid – July, 2016

Revelstoke BC and Canmore, Alta

We felt home, so peaceful and spacious. well equipped and many beds available and comfortable too. I loved the shower and the location so much we were 2 families and we had the best memory ever and we are looking forward to repeat the experience. thank you”

Aboudy and family

July 1st Canada Day Weekend 2016

Calgary, Alta

SPRING 2016 REVIEW from a group of women for their annual hiking getaway:

Yes, our hostess made us feel very welcomed. She was able to provide us with a lot of information and maps on how to get to the cottage and make ourselves at home. Her neighbor was there to answer other questions”

“Our stay at the Mountain cottage at Slocan Lake was delightful. The cottage was lovely and there was lots of room. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. The grounds around the cottage were immaculate, big and beautiful. We enjoyed using the fire pit and lounging on the back porch”

Mary Kay Schneider and friends

May Long Weekend extended trip, 2016

Liberty Lake, Washington

WINTER REVIEWS

Here is a review from one of our winter groups of 2016, they spent 2 weeks chillin’ at the Mountain Cottage, exploring and touring the endless backcountry terrain in the area. They were just the BEST group of guys from Germany with so much fun, positive energy and we are thankful they chose us for their “dream Canadian trip”! As a souvenier, I gifted them the amazing picture book “Kootenay Escapes”. Would love to see them back 🙂  See the slideshow of photos they took and sent to us, below!

“Thank you so much… for your help, for the book(!), for those experiences we had, for the amazing time at the cottage, it’s the perfect place to lay back + getting out into the nature, having fun with friends. I mean the memories we have from that time at the slow as you can Valley:D are just awesome, great, fantastic. We really loved your place, the nature around, the lake, the mountains and the people who were really nice and friendly to us!!! Was a true pleasure to had this time in Canada…”

Christoph Heinzmann and friends,

Germany, February 2016

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

MORE REVIEWS….

“The weekend we spent at Mountain Cottage was glorious! The cottage came clean, comfortable and fully equipped as it promised. We were so thankful for kind, helpful neighbors and Fred who patiently helped us out of the snow when we missed the turn and couldn’t turn around to get back. We loved walking around in the peaceful surroundings, and coming back to a warm wood stove was the perfect way to relax. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would love to come back and see it in a different season. Thank you, Monika and Fred!”

Meaghan Lee and friends

Spokane, Washington U.S. January 2016

“Great snowy mountain escape for our family & guests from Mexico. Loved the warm wood stove and beautiful trees. Would recommend to anyone looking for a true Canadian experience!”

Brock, Ricardo, Leanne, Waren, Karla & Marie Carmen

Canada & Mexico, December Holidays 2015

My friends and I had a great stay at Monika’s cottage. The place was very clean, quite spacious, and had everything we needed/expected. The location is also great for hiking and checking out the hot springs in the area (Halcyon, Nakusp, Ainsworth), West Kootenay is absolutely beautiful in the Fall and we were blown away with all the colours. The wood stove in the cabin, the fire pit and the rustic sauna outside were extra bonuses which made our stay even more enjoyable. Monika was waiting for us in the cottage when we arrived, she was very kind and helpful and explained everything we needed to know clearly and patiently. I definitely recommend this cottage to travelers.”

Mohsen Javdani and Friends, Kelowna BC

Thanksgiving weekend, October 2015

“Beautiful house! Our kids loved the garden and the play structure. Would love to return! The Silverton and New Denver area is stunning.”

Elaine and David Booker, China

Mid – June, Early summer 2015

Our stay at the cottage was great! It’s in an amazing location on a beautiful property. Close to biking trails and the lake which we really enjoyed. The amenities are excellent. “

Ben Sawyer, Rossland, BC Canada

Late September 2015

Our stay has been absolutely fantastic, rejuvenating, and peaceful. We all loved the house and the beautiful land around it. We appreciated the love that’s been put into the construction of the simple yet elegant open floor plan 🙂 Communicating with Monika was an absolute delight compared to previous experiences with other hosts. She modified our reservation when we left another place prematurely due to a misleading listing. This is a wonderful and safe place to have a peaceful and relaxing vacation with your family or friends. When we arrived there was ample dry wood and kindling to keep the place nice and toasty, there was a beautiful kitchen, and the clawfoot tub was used religiously by one of us for relaxing bubble baths. A walk around the perimeter of the yard will undoubtedly increase the botanical value of your good life, and the beautiful golden “grandfather larch” will leave you inspired. There are views of the mountains nearby which are absolutely breathtaking, and it has a very close proximity to the lake. I would just recommend doing grocery shopping prior to arriving at the house as there isn’t much grocery shopping available nearby.”

Ty Wheeler from Colorado, US and Germany friends

Mid November 2015

Monika met us at the cabin and greeted us upon arrival. The cabin was very charming and comfortable. We did run into an issue surrounding a miscommunication about internet speed at the house (my husband needed it for work during our stay), but Monika jumped into action and did everything within her power to try and rectify the situation. She was a very attentive host and checked in on us regularly via email. We happened to stay during a heat wave and Monika kindly brought us fans and a little pool for my son to play in. She also made sure we knew the best beaches and the villages well. The cabin itself was about 10 minutes or less from the town of Silverton and the lovely lake. Grocery and gas was about 12 minutes drive away. A great remote place to get away from it all and enjoy the gorgeous lake! We drove all the way from Kansas- and it was worth it!”

Macala Taulbourg and family, Kansas City, Kansas US

Early July 2015

Advertisements